FIRST Merit Scholarships Awarded

Published on June 3, 2013 in Computer & Electronics, Consumer Electronics, Technology


Ten college-bound Canadian and US students earn FIRST grants for 2013-14 school year

DAYTON, Ohio (June 03, 2013) –  In partnership with the non-profit organization FIRST, For Inspiration and Recognition in Science and Technology, Teradata has granted college scholarships to 10 students on Teradata-sponsored FIRST Robotics teams. FIRST is the foundation for the FIRST Robotics Competition, a program designed to foster interest in science, technology, engineering and mathematics by giving students experience designing and building a robot that can accomplish specified tasks.

“Students involved in FIRST gain hands-on learning that helps them grasp difficult concepts. Their involvement has also taught them about teamwork and the rigors and realities of professional careers,” said Sherri Morgan , Teradata community relations director. “We’re pleased to support these ten future scientists and engineers and wish them great success in their college education.”

The winners were selected from a highly competitive group of applicants by the independent organization Scholarship America. They were chosen for their academic achievements, demonstrated leadership skills in school or their community, and their intention to major in a science, technology, engineering or math discipline at an accredited four-year college or university in the United States or Canada.

The scholarship winners have made their fall university decisions, including California Institute of Technology, Eastern Carolina University, Georgia Institute of Technology, Harvard, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, University of California – Berkeley and the University of Waterloo (Ontario).

The 2013 winners of the Teradata FIRST $1,000 scholarships are: 


Michael Skupien , of Ontario, Canada, is planning to study mechatronics engineering at the University of Waterloo. He is a member of the Red Devils, FRC Team #1334.  



Hunter Nicholson , of Oceanside, CA, will study physics at the California Institute of Technology. He is a member of the Buffalo Wings, FRC Team #5015.  

Diane Wang , of Saratoga, CA, will major in computer science at UC Berkeley. Wang is a member of the Funky Monkeys, FRC Team #846.


Jonathan Saenger , of Clarkston, GA, will major in aerospace engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He is a member of Global Dynamics, FRC Team #4026

Jagadeesh Movva , of Duluth, GA, plans to attend the Georgia Institute of Technology and major in aerospace engineering. Movva is a member of the Techno Titans, FRC Team #1683.

Katie Walker , of Suwanee, GA, will attend the Georgia Institute of Technology and plans to major in mechanical engineering. Walker is a member of Teradactyls, FRC Team #4566.


Lindsay Davenport , of Colfax, NC, plans to major in biology at East Carolina University. She is a member of the Flying Platypi, FRC Team #2655.

Timothy Chang , of Greensboro, NC, plans to attend Harvard, where he will major in chemistry. Chang is a member of Triple Strange, FRC Team #1533.  

Isaac Kaplan , of Greensboro, NC, will attend the Georgia Institute of Technology and major in mechanical engineering. He is a member of Team Prion, FRC Team #3215.


Nana Anim , of Clayton, Ohio, will major in chemical engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Anim is a member of Innovators Robotics, FRC Team #3138.  

About TeradataTeradata Corporation (NYSE: TDC) is the world’s leading analytic data solutions company, focused on integrated data warehousing, big data analytics, and business applications. Teradata’s innovative products and services deliver data integration and business insight to empower organizations to make the best decisions possible and achieve competitive advantage. Visit for details.

Get to know Teradata:Twitter: Facebook: YouTube: LinkedIn:

Teradata is a trademark or registered trademark of Teradata Corporation in the United States and other countries.

Source: Teradata

Leave a Reply